Who we are...

Mrs Rachael Boiling - Co-opted Governor / Deputy Headteacher
Rachael joined the Governing Board in May 2016 as a link between the previous headteacher and newly appointed to enable consistency as the school changed leadership. 
Originally joining Berry Hill in September 1999, Rachel taught Year 5/6, then working 10 years as a Teacher Assistant at Walford Primary while she brought up her own children. Rachael returned to teach Year 6 at Berry Hill for several years, moving to Year 4 in 2016, and uses her wide knowledge and experience to inform and enhance the work of the Governing Board. 
Rachael oversees 'Teaching and Learning' and 'Progress and Attainment' both in her leadership role in school and for the Governing Board.   Rachael's term of office is 4 years and will end in 2024.   
Mr Grant Bowes - Parent Governor / Chair of Combined Committee
Grant joined as a member in 2018 shortly before his daughter joined the school in September of that year.  He works in the facilities and property management industry, specialising in health and safety, finance and people management, skills which very much support the work of our Governing Board. Grant's term of office is 4 years, and will end in May 2022.  Grant has governor responsibility for Mathematics, and Health and Safety, and works closely with our Business Manager and other governors to oversee finance.    
Mrs Sue Burrows - Partnership Governor
Sue was appointed to her governor role in 2016, and was also instrumental in overseeing the transition from previous to current headteacher.  Sue has worked within education for several years, most recently as Headteacher of an Infant school and Early Years Centre, and currently supporting schools and coaches for a National children's charity.  She has lived in and loved the Forest of Dean since the 1970's and enjoys exploring the local area with her dogs and family.  Her current term of office is 4 years, ending in October 2021.  
Responsibilities:  Early Years, Headteacher performance, Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND), Wellbeing and Mental Health.  
Mrs Maxine Godfrey - Clerk to Governors
Maxine joined our Governing Board as clerk in 2021, and brings a wealth of experience from clerking in several other schools in Gloucestershire as well as Berry Hill.  Having spent several years living and working in schools oversees, Maxine now lives locally and is enjoying supporting the governors of Berry Hill.  
Mrs Sally Hunt - Headteacher
Sally joined Berry Hill in September 2016 as Headteacher, returning to live and work in the  Forest following 5 years headship in Leicestershire.  Starting her own professional journey in education as a Teaching Assistant at Drybrook Primary, followed by five years with Gloucestershire's peripatetic Primary Behaviour Team, then teaching at Soudley and Arthur Dye Primary, she amassed a wealth of experience of working in primary education, before completing her NQT qualification and gaining her first headship at a Snarestone Primary School on the Derbyshire/Leicestershire border. 
With a passion for ensuring all children in our community receive a high-quality education enabling their to achieve to their very best, we have seen the school popularity swell to almost full capacity under the current leadership.     
Mr Stewart Hunter - Chair of Governors / Co-opted Governor
Our current Chair, Stewart joined the Governing Board in January 2017 after moving into the area, and wanting to support the work of a local school.  With many years in education, including several as Deputy Headteacher, Stewart currently works for the Department for Education specialising in project and programme management.  He has governor responsibility for English, data protection, headteacher peformance and pay, and supports the work of finance and administrative teams.  Stewart's term of office is 4 years, ending in 2021. 
Miss Leah Price - Staff Governor
Leah was appointed in 2021 and has been working at Berry Hill as a Higher Level Teaching Assistant since 2014, primarily with our Junior children, from Year 3 to Year 6.  Living in Berry Hill, and with children that attend the school, Leah has a varied and valuable perspective to share with the Governing Board.  Leah is proud to belong to the Berry Hill village community that has so much to share with those that live here.   Leah has governor responsibility for Pupil Premium, and supports teaching, learning and outcomes.  Her term of office is four years, ending in 2025.   
Mrs Christie Simmonds - Local Authority Governor (pending)
Christie is  co-opted governor who joined our Governing Board in May 2019.  She works in the education sector of the Local Authority, specialising in software solutions and data analytics.  Christie attended Berry Hill Primary as a pupil is enjoying the opportunity to continue to support the work of a school she very much loved in her professional capacity.  Although safeguarding is a key focus for all governors, Christie has overall responsibility for it, along with Computing, and supporting the finance, pay and business of the school.  Her term of office is 4 years, ending in November 2023.
Mr Joe Randall - Co-opted Governor
Joe works in the sports travel and hospitality industry, specialising in service procurement contracts and large-scale travel operations.  He joined the Governing Board in 2019 when his daughter joined school, and has responsibility for Physical Education (PE) and wellbeing, headteacher performance and pay, and overseeing Governor training and visits.   Joe's term of office is 4 years, and will end in 2023.