Class Pine 2019-2020

Welcome to Pine Class!
 
Getting Settled...
 
This half term, we are continuing to learn about the Anglo-Saxons and Vikings focusing on how they changed Britain.
 
On Thursdays, the children will be going to the gymnastics centre as part of their PE. Please ensure that your child has a water bottle and a snack.
Our other PE session will be 'dynamic dance' on Fridays.
 
Library will be on Thursdays.
 
Wednesday 4th September 2019 - Maths
 
The children used whiteboards to compare and order five digit numbers.
Wednesday 4th September 2019 - SPAG 
 
In our previous lesson, the children investigated the different sounds which the 'ough' grapheme makes. Today we used this to create our own poems containing words with the 'ough' grapheme.
Friday 6th September 2019 - PE (netball)
 
This lesson the children were practising three different types of pass: chest pass, bounce pass and overhead pass.
Monday 9th September 2019 - Computing
 
The children used Scratch to add backgrounds, change/delete sprites and add basic movements.
Tuesday 10th September 2019 - Maths
 
We made dice for Mrs Gardner using the net of a cube.
Tuesday 10th September 2019 - Science
 
Pine Class created their own model of the Solar System!
Thursday 10th October 2019 - Art/DT
 
Our class flag ready for the rugby festival!
Tuesday 22nd October 2019 - Sculpture trail trip
 
The children had a great morning using their map to navigate around the trail and take photos for their art work... with some free time on the adventure playground too!
Tuesday 22nd October 2019 - Sculpture trail trip
 
The children took some fantastic photos in the style of Lucy Shires for their art work!
Friday 25th October 2019 - Science
 
We made the phases of the Moon with Oreos - yum!
Wednesday 13th November 2019 - PSHE (trip)
 
SkillZone is Gloucestershire's only interactive life skills village where people of all ages can learn how to keep themselves safe whether at home or in their community.
Monday 18th November 2019 - STEM Workshop
 
Design and build a fairground ride.
 - write, debug and improve a control program for a ride.
See below for photos and videos of our finished rides!
Wednesday 27th November 2019 - PE (boxercise)
 
The children used their boxercise moves to create a routine to music.
Monday 9th December 2019 - Products for Christmas fayre
 
Lavender cushions and organic wreaths
Wednesday 12th December 2019 - PE (dance)
 
Pine Class are dancing their way to the end of term with their PE unit 'step to the beat'. Videos below...
Thursday 16th January 2020 - Gymnastics (session two)
Thursday 23rd January 2020 - Gymnastics (session three)
Friday 24th January 2020 - Science
 
The children led their own experiment to find out which shapes travel through water the easiest and why.